Charleston Southern celebrates "The Buckys" as the Bucs host the 53rd annual athletic awards banquet

Charleston Southern celebrates "The Buckys" as the Bucs host the 53rd annual athletic awards banquet

CHARLESTON, S.C. - Charleston Southern women's soccer senior Grace Clark earned the Hunter Cup to highlight CSU's 53rd Annual Athletic Awards Banquet on Monday night as the Buccaneers congregated for their annual award ceremony recognizing top athletics and academic performances across the 2018-19 athletic seasons.

Photo Gallery

Among the notable award winners includes women's golf's Ellen Hume and men's basketball's Dontrell Shuler earned Male and Female Rookie of the Year honors, while Matt Inman (Michael Frost Christian Leadership) and Femcke van Rensburg (R.L. Wynn Christian Leadership) also received recognition. Director of Track & Field and Cross Country Jim Stintzi was named the CSU Head Coach of the Year.

Clark will receive the Hunter Cup at CSU's commencement ceremony on May 4 thanks to her work in the classroom as an Elementary Education major where she has posted a 3.96 GPA over her four years at CSU. Clark also lined up in 71 career games for the CSU women's soccer team and scored two game-winning goals, including this past season against Hampton. The Atlanta, Ga. native was a 2018 Big South All-Academic selection and represented CSU at the 2017 NCAA Student-Athlete Leadership Forum.

Hume earned All-Conference and All-Freshman recognition to cap a season where the Buccaneers finished sixth at the conference tournament. Hume consistently sat among the Big South leaders in stroke average in her inaugural campaign at Charleston Southern. The London, England native entered the Big South Championships sitting tied for fifth overall in stroke average at 73.20 per round and finished sixth overall at the conference's penultimate championship event.

Shuler was a key contributor to men's basketball's best season since 2014-15, Shuler finished among the Big South leaders in scoring while also earning recognition as one of the top on-ball defenders in the conference this season. Shuler scored his season high of 22 points when it mattered most as he helped the Bucs advance past Winthrop in the Big South Tournament.

The Michael Frost Award is given to the male athlete who exemplifies Christ through leadership and value with their team, on campus, and in their community. Inman receives the award for the second year in a row as he has taken a leadership role on campus and is involved in an athlete Bible study while competing for both the cross country and track & field teams.

The R.L. Wynn Christian Leadership Award is given to the female student-athlete not only represents Christ but who exemplifies leadership and values. This person is a standout on their team, the campus, and in the community and was received by women's tennis' Van Rensburg for taking a leadership role in SAAC, as well as other on-campus initiatives.

The 2018 Big South men's cross country Coach of the Year, Jim Stintzi has rebuilt the men's cross country team into a regular conference contender. In 2018, men's XC saw their best finish since the 1990 season and finished as the runner-ups for the third time in program history.

The complete list of CSU Athletic Award Winners are listed below:
Hunter Cup – Grace Clark, Women's Soccer
Michael Frost Christian Leadership – Matt Inman, Men's Cross Country/Track & Field
R.L. Rynn Christian Leadership – Femcke van Rensburg, Women's Tennis
Head Coach of the Year – Jim Stintzi, Director of Cross Country/Track & Field
Faculty Member of the Year – Dr. Peter Link, Chair and Assistant Professor of Christian Studies
Supporter of the Year – Luke Blackmon, Vice President for Business Affairs and Athletics
Support Staff Member of the Year – Betty Palmer, Associate A.D. for Academics
Highest Team GPA – Women's Tennis, 3.65 GPA
Male Strength & Conditioning – Alex Andronica, Baseball
Women's Strength & Conditioning – Annie Bakenhus, Softball
Chuck Welty Captain's Resolve Award – Kendall Anderson, Softball
Clutch Moment of the Year – James Allen vs. Campbell (Three interceptions, one TD, game-winning interception)
Best Finish Award – Men's Golf wins Wexford Intercollegiate (Rallied back from 10 strokes down to win event by four strokes)
Best Upset – Women's Tennis defeats College of Charleston for first time in program history

View: Mobile | Desktop